Last year, my winter vacation was split into two halves: sitting in the shokuinshitsu either being bored or watching Corazón Salvaje, and then going off to Tokyo with a friend.  This year, I’ll be going home to good ol’ Detroit.  I feel like I was just home since I did go during spring vacation, but that was nearly 9 months ago!  The time went by so fast! I think that’s why I don’t really get homesick, there’s no time for it! But when I start thinking about all the things I can do in the States, I get really excited.

I’m going to pick up some new shoes, eat Amicci’s pizza, and sleep on my wonderful Sealy Posturepedic. ^o^♡

Interestingly, I remember when I got back from the States last time, I mentioned on this blog that in my mother’s house I realized how free I felt because 1.) I wasn’t hitting the light fixtures accidentally, and 2.) I didn’t have to worry about disturbing the neighbors.  Well, Tuesday evening I got home to see a moving truck and a big mess in front of my building.  Turns out, my downstairs neighbors moved.  They had been cleaning their apartment, but I thought it was just the usual end-of-year cleaning.  I felt a bit lonely once they were gone.  Not that I particularly spoke to them nor they to me, but just knowing someone lived there made the place feel home-y (even if it was a pain to have to tiptoe about).  Also, I think it felt lonely because there’s so many vacancies in my juutaku, and the few Japanese teachers who do live there are hardly ever home, so it feels empty.  Especially because when people leave, they’re required to leave the place completely empty, taking down even the curtains and curtain rods!  So, you can’t help but notice all the deserted rooms.

Well, I should get to writing 年賀状 (nengajou = New Year’s postcards).

I have a feeling there was something else I wanted to say, but I can’t remember for the life of me.  ^_^;

Next time I post something, I’ll be on the other side of the world!

^_^/

