Tags

, , , ,

UPDATE (Feb. 12, 2014): I’ve tweaked this translation and posted it to my translations blog, Warped Frost. Find the new translations here.
改訂(2014年2月12日):「バチャタ・エン・福岡」の和訳・英訳に改良を加えたので新しいブログ「Warped Frost」でご覧ください

_________________

Finally, here it is! My translation to Japanese of Juan Luis Guerra’s hit song “Bachata en Fukuoka.” I’ve included an English translation as well, but I made the Japanese translation from the original Spanish lyrics. This translation isn’t perfect, but it’s better than what automatic translators will give you. I’ve seen a couple of blog posts in Japanese about the song, but since so far no one has straight out translated and uploaded it, I figured I’d go ahead and try. There are some lines which, although they sound romantic in Spanish, end up sounding a bit morbid in English (e.g. “con tu piel de abrigo” = “with your skin as my coat”), so because I don’t know if this holds true for Japanese, I decided to go ahead and translate such lines less poetically.

For those just now tuning in, “Bachata en Fukuoka” is a song by Dominican artist Juan Luis Guerra. He had recently been to Fukuoka performing, and he fell in love with the city. As for “bachata,” it is a type of Dominican dancing.

The record company doesn’t want people embedding the video, so click on this link to get to it : http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_4NBD3SqBwg

Also, here’s an interview with Guerra in which he talks about his experience in Fukuoka, the song, and its video. As anyone who’s lived in Fukuoka can realize, the video wasn’t actually shot here. Due to time constraints, the video was shot in Los Angeles. Guerra also explained in this interview that it would be difficult to find a woman of Japanese descent who could both dance bachata and do wire work (for the video’s flying dance scenes) anywhere outside of Hollywood. Even so, they couldn’t find a Japanese woman with these skills.

And now, Eli butchers this message by trying to say the key points in Japanese without having had it checked by anyone!

下記は私が翻訳したフアン・ルイス・ゲラの大ヒット「バチャタ・エン・福岡」です。完璧ではありませんが、グーグル等のオンライン翻訳より正確だと思います。英語訳も書きましたが、日本語訳はスペイン語の歌詞に基づいています。日本でこの歌は知られているそうですが、私は今まで日本語訳を見つけられていないので、自分で翻訳してみました。

~~~

“Bachata en Fukuoka”

Dile a mañana que se acerca mi sueño
Que lo que se espera con paciencia se logra
Nueve horas a París viajé sin saberlo
Y crucé por Rusia con escala en tu boca

Yo canté tu bachata aquí en Fukuoka
(Tu bachata en Fukuoka)

Y un atardecer pintó de canvas el cielo
Caminé la playa de Momochi, mi anhelo
Y se me escapó una sonrisa del alma
Aquí me enseñó “arigatou gozaimasu”

Yo canté tu bachata aquí en Fukuoka

Pa’ bailar contigo (pa’ bailar)
Se me alegra la nota
Quiero cantar contigo (quiero)
Una bachata en Fukuoka
Una bachata en Fukuoka (pa’ soñar contigo)
En el mar las gaviotas
Con tu piel de abrigo (quiero)
Vivir bachata en Fukuoka

Y llegó la hora de partir y decir sayonara (con pocas ganas)
Y una palomita se posó en mi ventana
Konnichi wa, ohayou gozaimasu

Pa’ bailar contigo (pa’ bailar)
Se me alegra la nota
Quiero cantar contigo (quiero)
Una bachata en Fukuoka

Una bachata en Fukuoka

Sueños, de arena en las olas
Besos, me daba tu boca
Tengo, estrellas y rosas
Niña, cantando en Fukuoka

Pa’ bailar contigo (para bailar)
Se me alegra la nota
Quiero cantar contigo (quiero)
Una bachata en Fukuoka
Una bachata en Fukuoka (pa’ soñar contigo)
En el mar las gaviotas
Con tu piel de abrigo
Vivir bachata en Fukuoka

~~~

「バチャタ・エン・福岡」(福岡でバチャタ)

僕の夢が近づいてくるのを朝に言って
辛抱強く待っているものは叶うものなんだ
分からずに9時間パリへ向かっていった
あなたの唇での乗り継ぎの後ロシアを超えた

ここ福岡ではあなたのバチャタを歌った
(福岡であなたのバチャタを)

ある夕暮れが空をキャンバスとして染めた
憧れの百道浜に歩いた
心からの笑顔が浮かんでしまった
ここでは、彼女が「ありがとうございます」を教えてくれたんだ

ここ福岡ではあなたのバチャタを歌った

あなたと踊るため(踊るため)
僕の引いている音符が嬉しくなる
あなたと歌いたい(歌いたい)
福岡でバチャタを
福岡でバチャタを(あなたと一緒に夢を見るため)
海でカモメが
あなたをギュッと抱きしめながら(生きたい)
福岡でバチャタを生きたい

別れの時間なので、(不本意ながら)さよならを言う
小さいハトが僕の窓に降りて止まった
こんにちは、おはようございます

あなたと踊るため(踊るため)
僕の引いている音符が嬉しくなる
あなたと歌いたい(歌いたい)
福岡でバチャタを

福岡でバチャタを

夢、波に乗る砂の
キス、あなたの唇が僕にくれた
持ってる、僕が星とバラを
あなた、福岡で歌っている

あなたと踊るため(踊るため)
僕の引いている音符が嬉しくなる
あなたと歌いたい(歌いたい)
福岡でバチャタを
福岡でバチャタを(あなたと一緒に夢を見るため)
海でカモメが
あなたをギュッと抱きしめながら(生きたい)
福岡でバチャタを生きたい

~~~

“Bachata in Fukuoka”

Tell the morning that my dream’s coming closer
Because the things you wait patiently for come true
Without realizing it, I’d traveled for 9 hours heading for Paris
And I crossed Russia with a stopover at your lips
I sang your bachata here in Fukuoka

One day the dusk painted the sky as its canvas
I walked on Momochi Beach; I had longed for it
A smile spread out from my soul:
This was where she’d taught me “arigatou gozaimasu”
I sang your bachata here in Fukuoka

To dance with you (to dance)
My notes become happy
I want to sing with you (I want to)
A bachata in Fukuoka
A bachata in Fukuoka (to dream with you)
On the waters, the sea gulls
Holding you tightly (I want to)
Live bachata in Fukuoka

The time to (reluctantly) part and say sayonara has come
A little dove alighted on my window
Konnichi wa, ohayou gozaimasu

To dance with you (to dance)
My notes become happier
I want to sing with you (I want to)
A bachata in Fukuoka

A bachata in Fukuoka

Dreams, of sand on the waves
Kisses, your mouth gave to me
Stars and roses, I brought
Girl, singing in Fukuoka

To dance with you (to dance)
My notes become happy
I want to sing with you (I want to)
A bachata in Fukuoka
A bachata in Fukuoka (to dream with you)
On the waters, the sea gulls
Holding you tightly (I want to)
Live bachata in Fukuoka

~~~

So, that’s it folks! I’ll come back and clean this post up when it’s not 1:30AM. ^o^; But I’ve had this on the back burner for a while now, so I just wanted to get it up.

