I think there might be a few people in the States who only get news of me through this blog, so I figured I should go ahead and post here that I’m fine. Fukuoka was virtually unaffected by the earthquake and ensuing tsunami that struck the Touhoku region yesterday. There was a tsunami advisory for a few hours, that’s all.

When this happened yesterday, I didn’t think it was that bad. First time I saw it on the news, there were only two deaths. Twenty-four hours later, and that number is in the hundreds, with many more missing. I’m reading that this is one of the biggest earthquakes in recorded history, and it feels surreal that everything here should be fine while houses are flowing down the street just four hours away as the bullet train flies.

At this point, all I can do is hope that everyone in danger is rescued, and send forth positive chi.

UPDATE (March 28th, 2011): Fukuoka is still safe.

I see that I’m getting lots of hits from people Googling to see if Fukuoka is safe or not, so I figured I should update this entry with that little bit.

